General Questions for User Accounts
What is a user?
A user is anyone with access to OpenEvSys through proper credentials (username / password). All users must be created and assigned individually by the site administrator. OpenEvSys does not allow "remote signups".
Can we use OpenEvSys with many users at the same time?
Yes, multiple users can login at any point. In fact, you can log in as many times as you like at the same time using different internet browsers from different locations.
How do we add new users to OpenEvSys?
To add a new user, start by going to the “Admin” section. Once there, look at the left side of the page and click on “User Management.” You should see a list of users (if there are none added, only “admin” will appear).
What is the maximum number of users of OpenEvSys?
There is no limit to the number of users.
What is the maximum number of users of OpenEvSys at the same time?
There is no limit to the maximum number of users who can be logged in at the same time. In fact, the same user account can be used from multiple locations, or in different tabs in the same browser.
Who can access OpenEvSys?
Only those with proper login credentials may access OpenEvSys. Please be careful about keeping your information private. Login credentials for one install of OpenEvSys will not work for another install of OpenEvSys.
Why have I been automatically logged out of OpenEvSys?
Probably because you left OpenEvSys open without doing anything for 20 minutes. This is a safeguard.
Why can't I login to OpenEvsys?
This could one of a few reasons:
- You entered an incorrect username or password, or both.
- You don't have cookies enabled on your browser. Enable them, and try again.
- You don't yet have a user account for OpenEvSys.
- Your administrator has disabled your account.
- Your administrator has changed your password.
Why does OpenEvSys automatically log me back in, even though I closed my browser window?
When a user logs into OpenEvSys with their username and password, OpenEvSys creates a session for them on the server. If you close the tab or window, and then reopen it, your session is still available on the server, so OpenEvSys tried to pick up where it left off. Sessions are closed when you either a) sign out, or b) leave OpenEvSys for 20 minutes without doing anything, when it will "time out" automatically.