Users and collaborators
When Live Blog is first set up, at least one administrator-level user (Root) is created. The administrator can then add journalists and other contributors as required, by clicking the Add User button in the Users section.
In the Add User dialog, the user's login name and password are set up, along with other basic details. Additionally, there is a drop-down menu in which the user's role is defined. The standard available roles are Administrator or Collaborator.
Users with administrator privileges are able to do pretty much anything on the system, including adding and deleting users, and creating, publishing and deleting live blogs.
Collaborators are much more limited. They are only able to write posts, not publish them. A collaborator's posts will need to be approved and published by a user with administrative privileges.
Once users have been set up on the system, users can be added as contributors to individual live blogs via the Manage Collaborators button.
Note that even if an individual has been set to have only collaborator-level privileges by the administrator in the Users section, she can nevertheless be granted administrator-level privileges when added as a contributor to a live blog. These privileges only extend to the particular live blog in question.